Problems with voting? Call the Election Protection hotline at 866-OUR-VOTE.

Mayah Lubin

Higher Education Equity Senior Coordinator

Mayah Lubin is a Higher Education Equity Senior Coordinator for the Educational Opportunities Project, supporting the Higher Education Equity Pledge: REASON development and implementation. The REASON Project collaborates with stakeholders and state higher-education agencies in developing a comprehensive strategy for closing access and graduation-rate gaps for underserved students of color at public flagship institutions.

Before joining the Lawyers’ Committee, Mayah worked as a data and policy analysis intern at The Education Trust– Massachusetts, supporting the Massachusetts Education Equity Partnership (MEEP).  MEEP is a collective effort of civil rights, social justice, and education advocates that convene from across the State of Massachusetts to advocate for policies and practices that expand opportunity for historically underserved students. Mayah analyzed the state Department of Education database to identify inequity trends and develop innovative ways to translate those trends into literature and data visualization tools to be leveraged, in concert with community voice, for advocacy.

Mayah earned a Master’s degree in Urban Education Policy from Brown University. She is a proud Mississippi native and graduate of Mississippi State University, where she earned a BA in Educational Psychology. While attending Mississippi State, she was elected the first Black female Student Body President. During her tenure, she developed the President’s Commission on the Status of Minorities, a task force convened by the student body president, to better address the needs of Mississippi State’s communities of color. Additionally, her leadership led to the development of Bully’s Closet and Pantry, a free nutritious food, basic personal necessities, and professional clothing resource for students in need and through a robust #MyVoteMatters campaign, earned the institution the Voter Friendly Campus distinction by the Fair Election Center’s Campus Vote Project.