Problems with voting? Call the Election Protection hotline at 866-OUR-VOTE.

The Lawyers’ Committee’s Virtual Annual Awards

As 2021 comes to a close, the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law will host its Annual Awards event to pay tribute to a group of people deeply committed to the work of racial justice. This special event will feature tributes to board members, clients and partners for their invaluable role in advancing our mission to secure equal justice under law. The Lawyers’ Committee’s virtual Annual Awards event takes place on Thursday, Dec. 9th, from 4 p.m. – 5 p.m. ET.

Frank R. Parker Client Award

The Frank R. Parker Client Award is named in memory of the former chief counsel of the Lawyers’ Committee’s Jackson, Mississippi office, and longtime director of the national Voting Rights Project.  The award is presented annually to recognize the courage and perseverance of a Lawyers’ Committee client.

Whitney North Seymour Award

The Whitney North Seymour Award is presented to a Board member who exemplifies the legacy of service and integrity that characterized the life of Whitney North Seymour.  As President of the American Bar Association, Mr. Seymour articulated that the Bar’s purpose “is to see to it that there is adequate representation for all: the rich, the poor, the unpopular and the despised.


Segal-Tweed Founders Award

Named in honor of the Lawyers’ Committee’s founding co-chairs, Bernard G. Segal and Harrison Tweed, two of the nation’s most esteemed jurists. This award is presented annually to a Lawyers’ Committee Board member who has displayed outstanding leadership and service in advancing the cause of equal justice under the law.

Brooks Burdette Rising Impact New Board Member Award

The Award is named in honor of Brooks Burdette a beloved member of the Lawyers’ Committee’s Board who upon joining declared “I am going to be your best Board member ever.” With this Award, the Lawyers’ Committee recognizes a new Board member who has demonstrated innovative and dynamic leadership in advancing the Lawyers’ Committee’s mission.

Stay Connected